2012 CFDA Nominee list- including Johnny Depp and the Olsen twins!

15 Mar

The Council of Fashion Designers of America and Diane von Furstenberg(CFDA president)announced the nominees for the 2012 CFDA awards (basically the fashion oscars), which will take place on June 4th at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall. Winning a CFDA Fashion Award is the highest and one of the most coveted honors one can receive in the fashion industry. I’m rooting for Simon Spurr for Menswear , Marc Jacobs and The Row (a tie of course) for Womenswear and Alexander Wang for Accessories to take home Trova (yes the award itself has a name). I’m also pretty excited about Johnny Depp getting the fashion Icon award for his super cool eclectic style.

Here are the nominees, per the CFDA press release:

The nominees for Womenswear Designer of the Year Award are Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen for The RowJack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs.

The Menswear Designer of the Year nominees are: Billy ReidPatrik Ervell, and Simon Spurr.

For Accessory Designer of the Year Award the nominees are: Alexander WangJack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Reed Krakoff.

Chris Peters & Shane Gabier for Creatures of the WindJoseph Altuzarra, and Max Osterweis & Erin Beatty for Suno have been nominated for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear. The nominees for the Swarovski Award for Menswear are Antonio AzzuoloPhillip Lim, andTodd Snyder. For the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design, the nominees are Irene NeuwirthPamela Love, and Tabitha Simmons.

The honorary awards go to a diverse group of people. The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the fiercely independent, four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner, will be presented to Tommy Hilfiger.

The Media Award, given in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, the influential journalist who revolutionized fashion reporting with her reports in the New York City Herald Tribune, will be given to Scott Schuman & Garance Doré.

The Fashion Icon Award will given to Johnny Depp, the first male recipient to receive the award, for his personal and eclectic sense of style.

The Founders Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert who is widely credited with putting American fashion on the map, will go to Andrew Rosen.

The International Award will go to Rei Kawakubo for Comme des Garçons for making an outstanding creative contribution to the world of fashion.

4 Responses to “2012 CFDA Nominee list- including Johnny Depp and the Olsen twins!”

  1. jpgiles March 15, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    Reblogged this on Habiliment and commented:
    2012 CFDA Nominees My vote: Marc Jacobs for Womenswear, Billy Reid Menswear, Alexander Wang for Accessories.

  2. alkgrace March 15, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    Reblogged this on little black sweats.

    • hellohourglass March 16, 2012 at 7:45 am #

      How exciting! Totally think Johnny Depp deserves it, the eclectic dressed are usually the best!


  1. CFDA Awards 2012 Red Carpet « yourstylejourney - June 4, 2012

    […] Tuesday June 5 at 12 pm EDT on Style.com. I can’t wait to watch!!!!!  Also, I wrote a post a while back with the nominees if you want more […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: